Marriage Licenses (By appointment only)
Passports (By appointment only)
Q: Can I get information on an estate, will, or divorce decree in your office?
A: No, that information is in the Clerk of Superior Court. They can be contacted at 919-209-5400.
Q: Are all records in your office public?
A: Yes, all records are public with the exception of military discharges.
Q: How do I know that my sensitive information is protected?
A: You may request that your sensitive information, such as a Social Security number be removed from documents displayed online. According to NC General Statute, you must notify the Register of Deeds office if you wish for your information to be redacted. Use the Redaction form.
Q: What are the fees for recording documents?
A: See the Recording Fees page.
Q: What payments are accepted?
A: Cash, debit/credit, ApplePay, or GooglePay. Checks are NOT accepted for vital records, but may be used in our real estate dept as well as for passports. ***We do accept checks from funeral homes***
Q: Can the Register of Deeds add or delete names from a deed?
A: No. A deed is a legal document establishing property ownership. The Register of Deeds and staff are prohibited by the state of North Carolina from practicing law.
Q: What do I need to bring to get a certified copy of a birth, death, or marriage certificate?
A: You will need to bring a valid photo ID. In addition only you, your spouse, brother/sister, child/grandchild, parent/step-parent, grandparent, or an authorized agent, attorney or legal representative of any of the above persons listed will be allowed to obtain a certified copy of any vital record
Q: What is the charge to obtain a birth certificate?
A: If the person was born in Johnston County, certified copies are $10.00 each. Uncertified copies are $.10 each.
Q: If I was born in another county, can I get a birth certificate in Johnston County?
A: Yes, as long as you were born after 1971 in NC and you were NOT adopted. The fee for out of county birth certificates is $24.00 for the first copy, $15.00 for each additional copy.
Q: What if I was adopted?
A: All adoptions are held in the State Office of Vital Records in Raleigh. They can be contacted at 919-733-3526.
Q: What is the charge to obtain a death certificate?
A: If the deceased died in Johnston County, certified copies are $10.00. Uncertified copies are $.10. ***Military gets one free copy***
Q: If my loved one died outside of Johnston County?
A: Yes, as long as the death occurred within NC and after 2022. The fee for out of county death certificates is $24.00 for the first copy, $15.00 for each additional copy.
Q: How much does it cost to obtain a marriage license?
A: $60.00 (cash or credit)
Q: What do I need to bring to obtain a marriage license?
A: Both of the applicants must appear in our office, along with a valid Government issued photo ID.
Q: How do I apply for a marriage license?
A: You may visit the Register of Deeds office or you may fill out the application Online.
Q: How long is my marriage license valid?
A: Licenses are valid for 60 days.
Q: Do we have to get married in Johnston County?
A: No, you can get married in any county in North Carolina.
Q: Is this where I get my Notary Public certificate?
A: Yes, you get your certificate here after you take your oath. All information is sent to our office directly from the Secretary of State.
Q: What is the charge for filing my Military Discharge?
A: There is no charge.
Q: Are Military Discharges made available to the public?
A: No. Discharges are not available for public viewing.
Q: Is there a fee for getting a certified copy of my Military Discharge?
A: No, there is no fee for a certified copy.
Page last updated: September 14, 2023