Marriage Applicant Need to Know Information
Marriage Licenses are by appointment only
Please call 919-989-5161 to schedule your appointment
Applying for a Marriage License
Due to the importance of this occasion, we ask for your help in making sure that both copies of your marriage license are completed in full and returned promptly to this office within 10 days from the marriage date.
Please read this information carefully:
- You must marry in North Carolina within 60 days from the issuance date of this marriage license in the presence of an ordained minister in any religious denomination, minister authorized by a church, federally or state recognized Indian nation or tribe, magistrate, or any other person authorized to solemnize a marriage under the laws of North Carolina.
- North Carolina requires two witnesses on the marriage certificate and both witnesses must sign both copies of the marriage license, print or type their names and indicate their mailing addresses.
- After the ceremony, please check the marriage license to be sure that all the boxes have been completed and signatures obtained. Remind the officiant performing the marriage that both copies of the completed marriage are to be returned to this office in the enclosed envelope within 10 days from the marriage ceremony. Failure to do so may result in a fine of $200.
As you know, your marriage license is a permanent record on file in the county in which the marriage license was issued. Please be assured that we take the matter of safeguarding your record very seriously. Upon receipt of the executed marriage license, we retain one copy in our office and forward one copy to the Vital Records office in Raleigh.
My staff and I feel it is an honor and privilege to share in your happy occasion. If you have any questions or need assistance, please do not hesitate to give us a call. We wish you a lifetime of happiness!
Johnston County Register of Deeds
Page last updated: October 2, 2023